camera kings scam

Has anyone purchased digital cameras from Camera Kings on their website?
For the Canon 5D MarkII, for example, their listed price is $350 below the next vendor’s price. They claim they can do this because, according to a salesman, they are not an authorized Canon camera dealer. Still, that wouldn’t void the warranty, so no problems with that. But I cannot determine if this is a scam or not. Any thoughts?
Edwin: the rebates only apply if you buy an $800 Canon Pixma camera which I do not need. So we’re back to $2500. On further review, the Camera Kings Canon 5D is NOT gray market. It says USA Warranty; so the savings still is $350!
Response to answer #2:
Now why would I buy a refurb for $2249, when I can get a new one for $2149. Why don’t you read the post more carefully??
Honda – thank you. Can you provide a link so I can read those reviews? I dealt with them on the phone, and they were low-key (no pressure tactics.) The say the merch is not Gray Market. And American Express backs up any shady business from merchants who use their card.
A reverse search of their phone number 1-718-210-1476 shows unpublished land line
A reverse search of their address
CameraKings, LLC.
337 E. 89th Street
Brooklyn, N.Y. 11236
Came back with several names. Heres a link to the search
http://www.whitepages.com/search/ReverseAddress?street=337+E.+89th+Street&where=Brooklyn,+N.Y.+11236
Here are links to some very negative reviews or comments
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Camera_Kings
http://thoughts-of-dave.blogspot.com/2009/06/camera-kings-camerakingscom-bait-and.html
http://beatthat.com/merchants/show/camera-kings
http://www.measuredup.com/company/Camera-Kings-9211284
I personally wouldn’t trust them to save a few hundred. If it is gray market Im not opposed for that reason alone. Ive bought gray market. I knew the risks and I saved $600 on a $1200 camera. That’s a much bigger savings than what Camera King offers for the risk.
Kottonmouth Kings Me and My Skate HD! LYRICS!
Write a comment: